That feeling

Do you remember how you felt when you booked your first ticket to somewhere far away? The moment you click on that button on the screen and it tells you “Congratulations, you successfully booked your flight to [insert random dream destination]”. The uncertainty of what will happen in that unknown country you are about to go to all by yourself (or even with a friend). The huge smile on your face, the shivers, the jumping up and down whenever you tell other people about it. That sweet mix of fear and excitement.

travelbug

The first ticket I booked took me to Sydney, Australia. I had been waiting for that moment for 2 years and when that day finally came I suddenly wasn’t too sure about it anymore. I had the idea of backpacking Australia in my head for 2 whole years! I had read every Oz-related book I could get my hands on! When people asked me what I wanted to do after school, my answer was “I don’t know, I’m going to Australia for a year, and then I’ll see what happens..” But then, suddenly, my dream is so close to become reality and what am I doing? I’m starting to think of home as “not that bad actually” and of all the things I would be missing during those months! I was on the verge of throwing it all away just because I was afraid of the fact that for once in my life I had no clue of what was going to happen. Fortunately that state didn’t last long, I found the courage to bitch slap myself (in my mind) for those thoughts and proceeded to get that ticket.

I guess what I want to say is: No mater how hard that first step seems, take the courage to do it. It is just yourself that’s holding you back. Your used-to-routine taking-the-easy-way-out self. Break your habits, it is always worth it. But you’ll never know if you don’t try.

 

Related Post: How you know that you should go travelling (again)

3 thoughts on “That feeling

  1. Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web site,
    and piece of writing is actually fruitful for me, keep up posting such articles.

Leave a Reply

